Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation

Best Paper Award

Main content start

The SHM Best Paper Award is presented to one or more individuals whose paper(s) are selected to have the highest quality and innovation from the Proceedings of IWSHM 2021. The Award, evaluation criteria, Award Committee composition, nomination, and selection procedures are described below.

I. Eligibility
All the papers submitted and accepted for the 13th IWSHM are eligible for this award.

II. Nomination criteria
All the authors are considered candidates for this Award. Originality and technical excellence are the two main criteria for selection

III. Award Committee
The Award Committee is formed by all the Session Chairmen for this Workshop. They may propose among the articles from the sessions of their specialty, one or two papers which may be candidates for the Award, justifying their proposal. The Award Committee Chairman is Prof. Güemes, from Madrid University, Spain. His primary responsibility is to make sure the committee functions and, based on the votes from the Award Committee members, to rank the candidates.

IV. Selection procedure
Originality and technical excellence are considered as the main criteria for nomination. Session chairmen will rank the papers; later a subcommittee will review these proposals and will prepare a definitive selection.

V. Award presentation
During the Workshop, a plaque accompanied by a check will be presented by the Chairman of the Award Committee. The Chairman of the Award Committee and the Chairman of the Workshop are in charge of organizing the Award presentation ceremony.

Chairman of the Award Committee:
Prof. Alfredo Guemes
University of Madrid, Spain

List of past recipients

2017: Jiaze He​, National Institute of Aerospace, USA
2019: Long Wang, University of California San Diego